40th anniversary K-League, establishment of Hall of Fame… Celebrating professional football history

 The Korea Professional Football Federation (hereinafter referred to as the ‘Federation’) announced on the 31st (Tuesday) that it will establish the ‘K League Hall of Fame’ system to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the launch of professional football and select the first inductees. .

Since its inception in 1983, the K-League has celebrated its 40th anniversary this year. The purpose of the establishment of the K-League Hall of Fame is to select people whose achievements and achievements can be especially honored among the numerous players, leaders, and officials who have graced the K-League over the past 40 years and leave their mark.

The ‘K-League Hall of Fame’ consists of three categories: ‘STARS’, ‘LEADERS’, and ‘HONORS’. The player category targets those who have made great achievements as players and the leader category as coaches. In addition to players and coaches, contributors are those who have contributed to the development of the K-League in various fields such as administration, industry, and media.

Starting from this year, a total of six people will be selected every two years, four from the player category, one each from the leader category and one from the contributor category. In particular, in this year’s player category, one best player for each of the past 10 years is selected to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the K-League, and four players are dedicated.

The selection process for inductees is carried out by the ‘K-League Hall of Fame Inductee Selection Committee’ (hereinafter referred to as the ‘Selection Committee’). The first selection committee was chaired by ▲former editor-in-chief of Sports Seoul, ▲Kim Ho-gon, former general manager of Suwon FC, ▲former secretary-general of the Professional Sports Association, ▲Ahn Ki-heon, former CEO of Busan I-Park, ▲Lee Jong-seong, Hanyang University sports industry professor, and ▲Han Jun-hee. Coupang Play soccer commentators participate as members. 먹튀검증

Candidates for the player category are those who have played in the top league (K League before the promotion and relegation and K League 1 after the promotion and relegation) among the players who have passed through the K League over the past 40 years. The selection committee decides who will be voted on through internal discussions for about 200 players who meet at least one condition, such as ▲the most points or most assists of the season, ▲the best eleven of the season, and ▲the MVP of the season.

The selection committee selects 15 candidates representing each decade, and from these candidates, the final four candidates are determined by adding the results of the selection committee’s own vote, club representative vote, media vote, and fan vote. Fan voting will be held online in February. The specific voting method and weighting by sector will be disclosed at a later date. Inductees in the Leaders and Contributors section are directly selected by the Selection Committee.

The final selection of inductees will be completed in March. Afterwards, offline events such as awarding trophies and certificates of dedication, talk concerts, invitations to affiliate club home games, commemorative videos, and online memorial halls, various events throughout the year will inform and commemorate the achievements of the first inductees in the history of the K-League Hall of Fame. .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *