ML’s best corner infielder combination, aiming for 2 consecutive WBC gold medals

St. Louis Cardinals infielders Paul Goldschmidt and Nolan Arenado help the United States win gold.

The United States plans to send its best members to the 2023 World Baseball Classic (WBC), which will be held in March next year. Starting with captain Mike Trout (LA Angels), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers), Adam Wainwright (Angels), and Mookie Betts (Dodgers), the best pitchers in the major leagues will come out.

Among them, Goldschmidt and Arenado announced their participation in the second consecutive tournament following the 2017 WBC, where the United States won the first gold medal in the tournament by defeating Puerto Rico. The United States has been criticized for neglecting the tournament, with major leaguers ignoring the WBC due to injuries and club problems. won

Goldschmidt and Arenado belonged to the Arizona Diamondbacks and Colorado Rockies respectively at the time of 2017, but Goldschmidt transferred through a trade in December 2018 and Arenado in January last year, keeping the infield corner of St. Louis together. 메이저사이트

First baseman Goldschmidt recorded 35 home runs, 115 RBIs, and a batting average of 0.217 OPS of 0.982 in 151 games this year, and was selected as the National League MVP, raising expectations for the U.S. national team. Third baseman Arenado also ranked third after Goldschmidt and Manny Machado (San Diego Padres) in the league MVP vote with 148 games, 30 homers, 103 RBIs, 73 runs, a batting average of 0.293 OPS and 0.891.

The U.S. national team is expected to show off their fantastic teamwork by bringing together the best corner infielder combination in the major leagues. Coincidentally, in the 2017 WBC, Goldschmidt went 1-for-13 and Arenado went 5-for-31 with 11 strikeouts.

2023 WBC U.S. Team Hope List
Starters – Clayton Kershaw, Nestor Cortes, Nathan Eboldi, Kyle Freeland, Merrill Kelly, Lance Lynn, Miles Michaels, Brady Singer, Adam Wainwright, Logan Webb
relievers – Daniel Bard, David Bednar, Nick Martinez, Ryan Presley, Dylan Tate, Devin Williams, Adam Ottavino